Districts of Madrid

The capital city of Spain, Madrid is divided into 21 different districts with about 128 wards or “barrios.” These districts are referred to mostly for administrative and official purposes – locals typically use the names of the metro stations for directions to the different parts of the city.

  1. Arganzuela: It is situated in central-southern Madrid and has 7 barrios – Atocha, Imperial, La Chopera, Las Acacias, Las Delicias, Legazpi and Palos de Moguer.
  2. Barajas: Home to the Madrid-Barajas International Airport, this district is composed of five neighborhoods – Aeropuerto, Alameda de Osuna, Casco Historico de Barajas, Corralejos and Timon.
  3. Carabanchel: Once the home of one of the biggest and most infamous prisons in Spain – the Carabanchel Prison, this district also figured prominently during the Spanish Civil War. The Siege of Madrid from 1936 to 1939 saw violent uprising in the district. It is broken down into 7 wards – Abrantes, Buenavista, Comillas, Opanel, Puerta Bonita, San Isidro and Vista Alegre.
  4. Centro: As the name implies, this is the central district of Madrid. There are six administrative neighborhoods in Centro – Cortes, Embajadores, Justicia, Malasana, Palacio and Sol, one of the more popular wards in the district.
  5. Chamartin: Before becoming integrated as a district of Madrid in 1948, Chamartin was a feudal estate.  It has six barrios – Castilla, Ciudad Jardin, El Viso, Hispanoamerica, Nueva Espana and Prosperidad. Some of its famous landmarks include the Gate of Europe, the Santiago Bernabeu Stadium and the National Auditorium of Music.
  6. Chamberi:  Chamberi is more known for its wealthy residential areas. It is composed of six wards – Almagro, Arapiles, Gaztambide, Rios Rosas, Trafalgar, Vallehermoso. Favorite haunts amongst the locals in the district include Plaza Chamberi and Plaza Olavide.
  7. Ciudad Lineal: “Linear City” has a population of about 228,000 and is made up of 9 wards – Atalaya, Colina, Concepcion, Costillares, Pueblo Nuevo, Quintana, San Juan Bautista, San Pascual and Ventas.
  8. Fuencarral-El Pardo: It is home to the royal hunting estate of Royal Palace of El Pardo and an EU-designated Special Protection Area for birds. It is composed of 8 barrios – Barrio del Pilar, El Goloso, El Pardo, Fuentelarreina, La Paz, Penagrande, Valverde, Mirasierra.
  9. Hortaleza: Located in the northeastern part of Madrid is the district of Hortaleza, a predominantly residential area with a high number of immigrants from the European Union. It has six wards – Apostol Santiago, Canillas, Palomas, Pinar del Rey, Piovera and Valdefuentes.
  10. Latina: It is one of the original 10 administrative districts of Madrid. Situated in the southwestern area, it is composed of 7 barrios – Aluche, Campamento, Cuatro Vientos, Las Aguilas, Lucero, Los Carmenes and Puerta del Angel.
  11. Moncloa-Aravaca: There are 7 neighborhoods in this district situated in the western part of Madrid – Aravaca, Arguelles, Casa de Campo, Ciudad Universitaria, El Plantio, Valdemarin and Valdezarza.
  12. Moratalaz: This eastern district of Madrid has been home to a number of famous personalities such as artists Alejandro Sanz and Melendi and journalist Elvira Lindo. It is divided into 7 barrios – Fontarron, Horcajo, Marroquina, Media Legua, Pavones and Vinateros.
  13. Puente de Vallecas: It has six wards – Entrevias, Numancia, Palomeras Bajas, Palomeras Sureste, Portazgo and San Diego.
  14. Retiro: Known for having the largest part in Madrid, the Buen Retiro Park, this district is predominantly an upscale residential area. It has 6 wards – Adelfas, Estrella, Ibiza, Jeronimos, Nino Jesus and Pacifico.
  15. Salamanca: Situated in the northeastern area of Madrid, Salamanca is known as one of the wealthiest and pricey areas where the streets are lined with luxury retail stores. It is composed of 7 wards – Castellana, Fuente del Berro, Goya, Guindalera, Lista, Parque de las Avenidas and Recoletos.
  16. San Blas: It has a population of about 157,000 and is divided into 8 barrios – Amposta, Arcos, Canillejas, Hellin, Rejas, Rosas, Salvador and Simancas.
  17. Tetuan: More of a business district, Tetuan is composed of 6 wards – Almenara, Bellas Vistas, Berruguete, Castillejos, Cuatro Caminos and Valdeacederas.
  18. Usera: Located in the northwestern part of Madrid, it is divided into 7 neighborhoods – Almendrales, Moscardo, Orcasitas, Orcasur, Pradalongo, San Fermin and Zofio.
  19. Vicalvaro: This district in the southeast area of Madrid has one of the least number of wards – Ambroz and Casco Historico de Vicalvaro.
  20. Villa de Vallecas: Located on the southernmost part of the city, it has 2 wards – Casco Historico de Vallecas and Santa Eugenia.
  21. Villaverde: Situated near Villa de Vallecas, this district has 5 neighborhoods – Butarque, Los Angeles, Los Rosales, San Cristobal de los Angeles and Villaverde Alto.
glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8